About Me

Who am I?

Hi! My name is Lucy Panfil and I am a Junior at Drake University. I am majoring in Advertising with minors in Marketing and Psychology and a concentration in Human Behavior. I am from Traer, Iowa, which is a small town about an hour and a half northeast of Drake. Some of my favorite hobbies include reading, playing video games, watching movies, and hanging out with friends and family.

I am a caring, responsible, and detail-oriented person. My skills include; organization, design, communication, and following directions. I thrive in a work environment that is well structured. However, I can also adapt to changes if need be. Currently, I am in charge of the Marketing Committee for an organization that I am involved in on campus. I run the social media accounts, design graphics, and write posts, which I really enjoy! In the future, I am hoping to work as part of a marketing team, or on an ad campaign. Preferably, I would love to work for a smaller local company.

Friends and Family

My friends and family are the most important thing in the world to me. At school, I live with my three best friends, Katelyn, Kerigan, and Olivia, in Drake West Village. I have known them all since freshman year and don’t know what I would do without them.

My family is made up of my mom, Diane, my brother, Ben, and my dad, Jon. We are all very close and love playing board games together. My mom works at Farmers Savings Bank & Trust in Traer, and my dad is recently retired. Before he retired, he was the City Clerk. Ben just graduated from Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois with a major in Animation. My family also includes my cats, Oliver and Phoebe. Oliver is buff colored and Phoebe is brown and gray. They are brother and sister, and we got them four years ago. They love to play and snuggle.

Experience

My professional experiences include part-time jobs throughout high school and summers. During the summers of 2019 and 2020 I worked as a Library Assistant at the Traer Public Library in my hometown. I also took summer classes both summers. At the library, I helped out with anything and everything. One of my jobs was to greet patrons and assist them with finding materials. I also checked in and out books and movies, as well as created book and movie displays. Additionally, I was the Children’s Summer Reading Program Assistant in 2019, where I encouraged kids to come to the library, and helped with children’s programs. Sadly the Children’s Summer Reading Program could not happen in the summer of 2020 due to the Coronavirus, but I still led some smaller group children’s programs.

I worked at the Traer Theatre throughout high school and on breaks my first few years of college. As it is a small theatre in a small town, it is only open on the weekends so I did not have a ton of hours. However, this was a great first job to have and it taught me a lot about teamwork, time management, organization, and following directions. At the theatre, I ran the projector as well as sold tickets and concessions to customers, and cleaned and organized.

I also worked at NuCara Pharmacy during my junior and senior years of high school. My title was “Customer Service,” and I ran the cash register as well as assisted customers with finding things. In addition, I was in charge of cleaning and organizing the store. My favorite part about my job at NuCara Pharmacy was the organizing. I loved getting to reorganize the decor and make the store look pretty.

Current Random Favorites

  1. Cats
  2. Reading
  3. Animal Crossing
  4. Peanut Butter Toast
  5. Target Trips
  6. Mario Kart

css.php